Nominee

Fashion Design

 
 

HYSTERIA

Stefanie Biggel


Photography:

Amanda Camenisch


Styling:

Oriana Tundo


Hair & Make-Up:

Daniela Koller


Model:

Séverine


Consultancy & Textile Prints:

Klaus Jürgen Schmidt


Photo Assistant:

Nocolas Duc


www.stefaniebiggel.com

Behind the fashion collection that bears the programmatic name HYSTERIA there stands a professional designer who, after four years spent working in the fashion circus of Paris and London, decided on a radical step – removing herself from the big fashion metropolises, and opting instead for the epicentre of the European crisis, Athens.


The collection is not seasonally based, and comprises outfits that are only made to order. For the designer, it marks an exit and a new beginning. It documents her personal deceleration and reconnection with quality. It arose as a reaction to her new environment and to the impressions and problems associated with it. It is based on contrasts, and uses techniques of collage and camouflage.


But HYSTERIA also draws inspiration from the different facets of what it means to be a woman – in dealing with the superfluity of information, the social media, collapse, end-of-the-world feelings, hysteria, sex. Important impulses were provided by the designer’s on-going partnership with the textile artist Klaus Jürgen Schmidt, which makes itself felt in some of the prints.


Comments of the nominators

The world of fashion is currently undergoing radical transformation. And there can be no doubt that it is a tricky and in many respects problematical field to work in. There is a lot of criticism and complaint, but very little gets done. Now Stefanie Biggel has finally shown that it is possible to draw conclusions, and look for new ways of making and marketing fashion on the basis of a different conceptual approach. This is courageous and deserving of respect and support.

Nominee

Fashion Design

 
 

HYSTERIA

Stefanie Biggel


Photography:

Amanda Camenisch


Styling:

Oriana Tundo


Hair & Make-Up:

Daniela Koller


Model:

Séverine


Consultancy & Textile Prints:

Klaus Jürgen Schmidt


Photo Assistant:

Nocolas Duc


www.stefaniebiggel.com

Hinter der Mode-Kollektion mit dem programmatischen Namen HYSTERIA steht eine professionelle Designerin, die nach vier Jahren Arbeit im Modezirkus von Paris und London einen radikalen Schnitt machte: weg aus den grossen Modemetropolen und hinein in das Epizentrum der europäischen Krise, nach Athen.


Die Kollektion, die nicht saisonal gebunden ist und deren Outfits nur auf Bestellung produziert werden, markiert einen Ausstieg und einen Neuanfang. Sie ist ein Dokument der persönlichen Entschleunigung und der Rückbesinnung auf Qualität. Sie entstand als Reaktion auf die neue Umgebung und auf die damit verbundenen Eindrücke und Probleme. Sie baut auf Gegensätzen auf und nutzt Techniken der Collage und der Camouflage.


HYSTERIA ist aber auch inspiriert von verschiedenen Facetten des «Frauseins», dem Umgang mit Informationsüberfluss, Social Medias, Kollaps, Weltuntergangsstimmung, Hysterie, Sex. Wichtige Impulse vermittelte die fortgesetzte Zusammenarbeit mit dem Textil-Künstler Klaus Jürgen Schmidt, die etwa in den Prints sichtbar wird. 


Comments of the nominators

Dass die Modewelt, die sich derzeit im Umbruch befindet, ein schwieriges, in vielerlei Hinsicht auch problematisches Arbeitsumfeld ist, steht ausser Frage. Kritisiert und gejammert wird viel, aber wenig geschieht. Mit Stefanie Biggel zieht endlich einmal jemand die Kosequenz und sucht auf Basis eines Konzeptes nach neuen Wegen, um Mode zu machen und zu vermarkten. Das ist mutig, verdient Beachtung und Unterstützung.