Nominee

Fashion Design

 
 

SORRY

Julian Zigerli – Head of Design

Stephanie Kamber – Production Manager
Anja Brühlmann – Sales Manager
Regula Büchel – Print Design Collaborator
Rebecca Ammann – Assistant
Lucie Guiragossian – Intern

Joanna Wyss – Intern


Bag design in collaboration with:

QWSTION


www.julianzigerli.com

Julian Zigerli’s spring and summer collection for 2017, Sorry, is his twelfth, and the first in which he has included styles for women. A wide range of articles of clothing gives rise to a comprehensive all-round assortment. Sorry, Zigerli says, stands for “all the things for which we should be sorry and should not be sorry”. But we have to do here with quite harmless peccadilloes, so the suggestion of an apology is in fact not seriously meant at all. In the end, consistently enough, the motto emerges as: Sorry, not sorry, never sorry.


In keeping with this airy utterance, the materials chosen for the collection have a light summery touch: lots of linen, thin cotton, denim-coloured knits. Cooperation with other designers and artists for the creation of textile prints is one of Zigerli’s trademarks. This time he has worked with Zurich product designer Regula Büchel. With the help of a 3D animation program they have developed flower and cloud prints – suitable symbols for that carelessly ironic Sorry. The bags on the other hand, made of reflective nylon, were created in partnership with the sought-after label QWSTION.


Comments of the nominators

Julian Zigerli has won great national and international acclaim in recent years. To look no further, he has featured more than once on Design Prize Switzerland. Without any doubt, he is one of the most important representatives of the young and contemporary Swiss fashion scene, offering men in particular a stylistic alternative that does not disguise the wearer. Even if his styles may perhaps have become a shade more commercial – as is only understandable – his fashions remain fresh, fun, sexy and original.

Nominee

Fashion Design

 
 

SORRY

Julian Zigerli – Head of Design

Stephanie Kamber – Production Manager
Anja Brühlmann – Sales Manager
Regula Büchel – Print Design Collaborator
Rebecca Ammann – Assistant
Lucie Guiragossian – Intern

Joanna Wyss – Intern


Bag design in collaboration with:

QWSTION


www.julianzigerli.com

Julian Zigerlis Frühjahr-Sommer-Kollektion 2017 Sorry ist seine zwölfte und die erste, in die er auch Entwürfe für Frauen aufgenommen hat. Eine breite Palette von Kleidungsstücken ergeben ein umfassendes Gesamtsortiment. Sorry, so Zigerli, steht für «all die Dinge, für die wir sorry sein sollten und nicht sorry sein sollten». Es geht hier aber um ganz harmlose Verstösse, und so ist die angedeutete Entschuldigung auch gar nicht ernst gemeint. Am Ende heisst das Motto konsequenterweise: Sorry, not sorry, never sorry.


Passend zum leichtsinnig dahin gesagten Sorry haben die für die Kollektion ausgewählten Materialien einen leichten, sommerlichen Touch: viel Leinen, dünne Baumwolle, denim-farbiger Strick. Die Kooperation mit anderen Designern und Künstlern für Textil-Prints gehört zu den Markenzeichen von Zigerli. Diesmal arbeitete er mit der Zürcher Produktdesignerin Regula Büchel zusammen. Mit Hilfe eines 3D-Animationsprogramms entwarfen sie Blumen- und Wolken-Prints – passende Symbole für ein sorglos-ironisches Sorry. Die Taschen aus reflektierendem Nylon entstanden wiederum aus der Kooperation mit dem angesagten Label QWSTION.


Comments of the nominators

Julian Zigerli, der in den letzten Jahren grosse nationale und internationale Anerkennung gefunden hat – nicht zuletzt war er mehrfach beim Design Preis Schweiz vertreten –, zählt zweifellos zu den wichtigsten Vertretern der jungen, zeitgenössischen Schweizer Modeszene und bietet insbesondere Männern eine stilistische Alternative, die den Träger nicht verkleidet. Auch wenn seine Entwürfe vielleicht ein klein wenig kommerzieller geworden sind – was nur verständlich ist –, bleibt seine Mode frisch, spassig, sexy und originell.