facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Fashion Design

 
 

AFTER WORK STUDIO

The AFTER WORK STUDIO label was founded by the fashion designer Karin Wüthrich and the graphic designer Matthias Fürst in 2015 immediately after they finished the Master’s course in fashion design they completed together at HGK Basel under the name WUETHRICHFUERST. The label already received a great response as a result of the Master’s collection, which has since increased further at national and international level and has made the designer duo into a firm component of the Swiss fashion landscape within a short space of time. The design vocabulary of the brand has developed during the three years of experimental volume combined with adventurous surfaces to a contrast between sportiness and feminine elegance. After Work Studio always places great importance on longevity and functionality with its designs, without losing sight of the aspect of high fashion. The self-image of the brand also includes a focus on fair working and manufacturing conditions – the production sites are located in Switzerland or in neighbouring countries – and on ecologically responsibly produced materials.


Comments of the nominators

The young label AFTER WORK STUDIO is one of the hopes of the Swiss fashion scene. The designs bear witness to a completely independent formal approach and remarkable design maturity. It’s therefore not surprising that the very contemporary and wearable fashion by this designer duo has already also found international approval – for example in London or Seoul.


Comments of the jury


The collections from After Work Studio display an excellent understanding of the body and a confident grasp of proportions and volumes. The work by the designer duo is flanked by strong, contemporary communication, which has reverberated around the public attention for the label. After Work Studio stands credibly for a genuine fashion vision and great dedication to its implementation. The jury recognises a substantial potential for success in the young label and regards the award as motivation for the designers to continue to pursue the path they have chosen.

facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Fashion Design

 
 

AFTER WORK STUDIO

Das Label AFTER WORK STUDIO wurde von der Modedesignerin Karin Wüthrich und dem Grafikdesigner Matthias Fürst 2015 geich nach Abschluss des gemeinsam absolvierten Modedesign-Masterstudiums an der HGK Basel unter dem Namen WUETHRICHFUERST gegründet. Das Label stiess bereits mit der Masterkollektion auf grosse Resonanz, die seither auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene weiter zugenommen hat und das Designerduo innerhalb kurzer Zeit zu einem festen Bestandteil der Schweizer Modelandschaft machte. Die Formensprache der Marke entwickelte sich in den 3 Jahren von experimentellen Volumen kombiniert mit gewagten Oberflächen hin zu einem Kontrast von Sportlichkeit und femininer Eleganz. After Work Studio legt bei seinen Entwürfen stets grossen Wert auf Langlebigkeit und Funktionalität, ohne dabei den Aspekt von High Fashion aus den Augen zu verlieren. Zum Selbstverständnis der Marke gehört auch der Fokus auf faire Arbeits- und Produktionsbedingungen – die Produktionsstandorte liegen in der Schweiz oder im nahe gelegenen Ausland – sowie auf ökologisch vertretbar hergestellte Materialien.


Comments of the nominators

Das junge Label AFTER WORK STUDIO gehört zu den Hoffnungsträgern der Schweizer Modeszene. Die Entwürfe bezeugen einen ganz eigenständigen formalen Ansatz und eine bemerkenswerte gestalterische Reife. So wundert es nicht, dass die sehr zeitgemässe und tragbare Mode dieses Designer-Duos bereits heute auch internationalen Anklang findet – etwa in London oder Seoul.


Comments of the jury


Die Kollektionen von After Work Studio offenbaren ein hervorragendes Verständnis für den Körper sowie ein sicheres Gespür für Proportionen und Volumen. Die Arbeit des Designer-Duos wird von einer starken, zeitgemässen Kommunikation flankiert, die in der öffentlichen Aufmerksamkeit für das Label ihren Widerhall findet. After Work Studio steht glaubhaft für eine echte Mode-Vision und ein grosses Engagement bei ihrer Umsetzung. Die Jury erkennt in dem jungen Label ein erhebliches Erfolgspotenzial und versteht die Auszeichnung als Ermutigung an die Designer, den eingeschlagenen Weg konsequent weiterzugehen.