facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Furniture Design

 
 

Limbic Chair

Concept & Design Method, Design of Shells, Functional Design of Mechanics:

Dr. med. Patrik Künzler


Design of Electronics, Sensors, VR-Applications:

Mark van Raai


Surface design metal parts of Limbic Chair:

Ben Fluri

(Independent student project)


www.limbic-life.com

The starting point for the development of the Limbic Chair, which was driven centrally by research by the physician Dr. Patrik Künzler, was not, as is so often the case, ergonomic considerations, but desirable mental or physical conditions – such as weightlessness, concentration, enjoyment, relaxation etc. The interplay between posture and exercise on the one hand and our mental and emotional health on the other hand was investigated. Derived from this, it was a matter of how a sitting instrument would have to be created for it to generate positive impulses for our mental or emotional well-being. Basic technology for furniture emanated from many experiments and technical studies, which were intended to enable healthy, enjoyable and even useful sitting. The Limbic Chair is the initial implementation on the basis of this technology. Its name hints at the “Limbic system”. The medical term describes a functional unit in the brain, which includes several anatomical structures and plays a central role in processing emotional and intellectual impulses.


Comments of the nominators


Noteworthy basic research on the subject of sitting, moving and emotion, for which the physiological and neurological functionality of the human body took centre stage. The findings gained from this led to a completely new approach to the design of seating.


Comments of the jury

It’s not a completely new revelation that physicians are involved in the development of seating. So far they have primarily been orthopaedics, who investigated where the human body should be supported or held or relieved when sitting, and where it needs movement. The Limbic Chair project is fascinating because of its completely new approach: for the first time neuronal and – the associated – emotional aspects of sitting are included in the investigation. The results are just as astounding as promising. The versions fitted with electronic sensors open up completely new areas of application such as in the field of the gaming industry where functional seating could be used as a device to control software. The Limbic Chair project appears exciting as an approach to research and the design thinking process. The findings acquired here could form the basis for new types of design solutions.

facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Furniture Design

 
 

Limbic Chair

Concept & Design Method, Design of Shells, Functional Design of Mechanics:

Dr. med. Patrik Künzler


Design of Electronics, Sensors, VR-Applications:

Mark van Raai


Surface design metal parts of Limbic Chair:

Ben Fluri

(Independent student project)


www.limbic-life.com

Ausgangspunkt bei der Entwicklung des Limbic Chairs, die zentral durch Forschungen des Mediziners Dr. Patrik Künzler vorangetrieben wurde, waren nicht, wie bereits so oft, ergonomische Überlegungen, sondern wünschenswerte mentale bzw. körperliche Zustände – etwa Schwerelosigkeit, Konzentration, Freude, Entspannung etc. Untersucht wurde das Wechselspiel zwischen Körperhaltung und Bewegung einerseits und unserer mentalen und emotionalen Verfassung andererseits. Davon abgeleitet ging es um die Frage, wie ein Sitzinstrument beschaffen sein müsste, von dem positive Impulse für unser mentales bzw. emotionales Wohlbefinden ausgehen. Aus zahlreichen Experimenten und technischen Studien ging eine Basistechnologie für Möbel hervor, die ein gesundes, vergnügliches und sogar nützliches Sitzen ermöglichen soll. Der Limbic Chair ist eine erste Realisierung auf Grundlage dieser Technik. Sein Name spielt auf das «Limbische System» an. Der Begriff bezeichnet in der Medizin eine Funktionseinheit im Gehirn, die mehrere anatomische Strukturen umfasst und eine zentrale Rolle bei der Verarbeitung emotionaler und intellektueller Impulse spielt.


Comments of the nominators

Eine bemerkenswerte Grundlagenforschung zum Thema Sitzen, Bewegung und Emotion, bei der die physiologischen und neurologischen Funktionsweisen des menschlichen Körpers im Mittelpunkt standen. Aus den dabei gewonnenen Erkenntnissen ergibt sich ein völlig neuartiger Ansatz für die Gestaltung von Sitzmöbeln.


Comments of the jury

Es ist nicht ganz neu, dass Mediziner in die Entwicklung von Sitzmöbeln involviert sind. Bisher waren das in erster Linie Orthopäden, die untersuchten, wo der menschliche Körper beim Sitzen gestützt oder gehalten oder entlastet werden soll, und wo er Beweglichkeit braucht. Das Projekt Limbic Chair fasziniert durch einen ganz neuartigen Ansatz: erstmals werden neuronale und – damit verbunden – emotionale Aspekte des Sitzens in die Untersuchung miteinbezogen. Die Ergebnisse sind ebenso erstaunlich wie vielversprechend. Durch die mit elektronischen Sensoren ausgestattete Variante eröffnen sich ganz neue Anwendungssegmente etwa im Bereich der Gaming-Industrie, wo funktionale Sitzmöbel als Device zur Steuerung von Softwares eingesetzt werden könnten. Das Projekt Limbic Chair erscheint spannend als Forschungsansatz und «Design Thinking»-Prozess. Die hier gewonnenen Erkenntnisse könnten die Grundlage für neuartige Designlösungen bilden.