facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Research

 
 

The Sausage of the Future

Team Design:

Carolien Niebling (concept & design),
Helge Hjorth Bentsen (illustrations, graphic design & info graphics), Olli Hirvonen, Carolien Niebling (illustrations), Jonas Marguet (photography),
Emile Barret (photo collages & cover image), Noortje Knulst, Emile Barret (making-of photography), Master butcher Herman ter Weele and molecular chef Gabriel Serero (sausages)


Supported/edited by ECAL


www.carolienniebling.net

www.ecal.ch


Team Client:

(the project is self-initiated but published after): Lars Müller Publishers, printed at ECAL by Benjamin Plantier


www.lars-mueller-publishers.com

www.thefuturesausage.com

The book Sausage of the Future came about on the basis of an interdisciplinary research project at ECAL. The aim of this project initiated by the designer Carolin Niebling was the development of new, meat-reduced or meatless sausage recipes, which could be implemented with the methods and techniques of traditional sausage production. The intention was to explicitly make a contribution to the development of a sustainable, environmentally compatible and healthy form of food and to contemporary culinary culture. The book, which is richly illustrated with illustrations, info-graphics and photographs, is presented as a brief and appetite-inducing trip into the world of sausages, their cultural history, their components and their production. However, the publication focusses on the new types of sausage created as part of the research project, which the designer developed in collaboration with a molecular chef and a master butcher up to the point of readiness for marketing.


Comments of the nominators

A refreshing and yet simultaneously well-founded topic selection for a research project in the field of design. The author was able to involve competent partners to carry out the interdisciplinary project so that there are no doubts about the fact that the proposed alternative sausage recipes can be implemented. An impressive example of food design.


Comments of the jury


As unconventional and perhaps initially even a bit remote from the subject this project might appear, the author is very successful in making the relevance of her research and her approach to solutions plausible. Sausage of the Future addresses a problem that exists in real life – the excessive consumption of meat and its consequences for the environment, which is likely to increase even further in the foreseeable future. The proposed alternative recipes were developed extremely professionally and also impress at a culinary level. The presentation of the project in the form of a book is clever, original and visually appealing. The publication contributes to making the research accessible to a wider audience and tasty in the true sense of the word. The project as a whole demonstrates the potential fruitfulness and significance of design
research approaches.

facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Research

 
 

The Sausage of the Future

Team Design:

Carolien Niebling (concept & design),
Helge Hjorth Bentsen (illustrations, graphic design & info graphics), Olli Hirvonen, Carolien Niebling (illustrations), Jonas Marguet (photography),
Emile Barret (photo collages & cover image), Noortje Knulst, Emile Barret (making-of photography), Master butcher Herman ter Weele and molecular chef Gabriel Serero (sausages)


Supported/edited by ECAL


www.carolienniebling.net

www.ecal.ch


Team Client:

(the project is self-initiated but published after): Lars Müller Publishers, printed at ECAL by Benjamin Plantier


www.lars-mueller-publishers.com

www.thefuturesausage.com

Das Buch Sausage of the Future entstand auf der Basis einer interdisziplinär angelegten Forschungsarbeit an der ECAL. Das Ziel dieses von der Designerin Carolin Niebling initiierten Projektes war die Entwicklung neuer, fleischreduzierter bzw. fleischloser Wurstrezepturen, die sich mit den Methoden und Techniken der traditionellen Wurstproduktion umsetzen lassen. Explizit soll damit ein Beitrag zur Entwicklung einer nachhaltigen, umweltverträglichen und gesunden Ernährung sowie zu einer zeitgemässen Esskultur geleistet werden. Das mit Illustrationen, Infografiken und Fotografien reich bebilderte Buch präsentiert sich als kurzweilige und appetitanregende Reise in die Welt der Wurst, ihrer Kulturgeschichte, ihrer Bestandteile und ihrer Herstellung. Im Mittelpunkt der Publikation stehen aber die neuen, im Rahmen des Forschungsprojektes kreierten Wurstsorten, die die Designerin in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Molekularkoch und einem Metzgermeister bis zur Marktreife entwickelte.


Comments of the nominators

Eine erfrischende und zugleich gut begründete Themenwahl für eine Forschungsarbeit im Designbereich. Für die Durchführung des interdisziplinär angelegten Projektes konnte die Autorin kompetente Partner gewinnen, sodass an der Umsetzbarkeit der vorgeschlagenen alternativen Wurstrezepturen kein Zweifel besteht. Ein überzeugendes Beispiel für Food Design.


Comments of the jury


So unkonventionell und im ersten Moment vielleicht sogar etwas abseitig das Thema dieses Projektes anmutet, so gut gelingt es der Autorin, die Relevanz ihrer Forschung und ihres Lösungsansatzes plausibel zu machen. Sausage of the Future adressiert ein real existierendes Problem – den übermässigen Fleischkonsum und seine Folgen für die Umwelt –, das sich in absehbarer Zeit noch verschärfen dürfte. Die vorgeschlagenen Alternativ-Rezepturen wurden hochgradig professionell entwickelt und überzeugen auch auf kulinarischer Ebene. Die Präsentation des Projektes in Buchform ist clever, originell und visuell ansprechend. Die Publikation trägt dazu bei, die Forschung einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit zugänglich und im wahrsten Wortsinn schmackhaft zu machen. Das Projekt als Ganzes beweist die potenzielle Fruchtbarkeit und Bedeutung von «Design Research»-Ansätzen.