facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Spatial Design

 
 

COSMOS

Team Design:

Atelier Poisson: Giorgio Pesce, Marie Cajka, Séverine Dolt, Adélaïde Neveu, Nicolas Jodry avec Daniel Cocchi et Francesco Panese; Photos: Régis Golay / Federal Studio; Installation Artistique:
Christian Gonzenbach


www.atelierpoisson.ch


Team Client:

Les quatre musées de Science du Palais de Rumine (Monétaire/Zoologie/Géologie/Archéologie
& Histoire): Jiulia Genechesi, Michel Sartori, Gilles Borel, Lionel Pernet


Main Suppliers:

menuiseries Actoform et Fabien Pont; enseignes impressions expo: MakroArt; Lumières: Ateliers du Colonel; imprimerie: Graphicom; Sérigraphie Uldry

Cosmos is the title of an exhibition project, which was implemented in 2018 in the Palais de Rumine in Lausanne. The four museums located there – for zoology, geology, archaeology & history, and monetary – came together for the first time in their history to put on a joint show. Atelier Poisson was instructed with the design, the setting of the exhibition and the co-curating part with the four museums. The designers also took over the catalogue design and external communications. The exhibits came from the well-stocked collections of the museums and many had never been on display to the public up to that point. Inspired by the “cabinets of wonder” that were popular in the Renaissance and that are now regarded as the incubator of the museum, Atelier Poisson designed the exhibition around 12 topic blocks. The main idea of creating compositions between pieces from different collections showed that each object can be seen through different angles and perceived from various scientific aspects. Equally unconventional and varied forms of presentation enabled the items to be seen in a new light and to awaken the curiosity of the visitors.


Comments of the nominators

This exhibition project is impressive as an overall package and shows that the exhibits from very different areas are connected in often unexpected and exciting ways. Atelier Poisson has more than justified the idea of a joint presentation by the museums in the Palais de Rumine with a convincing concept and an exciting spatial design. The catalogue and the integrated communications strategy are also worth mentioning.



Comments of the jury

Here an extremely complex, interdisciplinary exhibition project has been implemented in an equally ambitious as well as professional manner. This shows: Items, which only a few specialists normally warm to, can become magnets for the public if they are placed in intelligent settings and in an exciting context. The pleasing visitor numbers confirm the relevance and quality of the exhibition concept. In Lausanne the success of COSMOS has reinvigorated the discussion about the future of the Palais de Rumine and its museums. That alone is a great achievement.

facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Spatial Design

 
 

COSMOS

Team Design:

Atelier Poisson: Giorgio Pesce, Marie Cajka, Séverine Dolt, Adélaïde Neveu, Nicolas Jodry avec Daniel Cocchi et Francesco Panese; Photos: Régis Golay / Federal Studio; Installation Artistique:
Christian Gonzenbach


www.atelierpoisson.ch


Team Client:

Les quatre musées de Science du Palais de Rumine (Monétaire/Zoologie/Géologie/Archéologie
& Histoire): Jiulia Genechesi, Michel Sartori, Gilles Borel, Lionel Pernet


Main Suppliers:

menuiseries Actoform et Fabien Pont; enseignes impressions expo: MakroArt; Lumières: Ateliers du Colonel; imprimerie: Graphicom; Sérigraphie Uldry

Cosmos ist der Titel eines Ausstellungsprojektes, das 2018 im Palais de Rumine in Lausanne realisiert wurde. Die vier dort ansässigen Museen – für Zoologie, Geologie, Archäologie und Geschichte sowie das Münzkabinett – schlossen sich erstmals in ihrer Geschichte zu einer gemeinsam bespielten Schau zusammen. Mit der Konzeption und szenografischen Umsetzung der Ausstellung sowie dem Co-Kuratorium mit den Museen wurde das Atelier Poisson beauftragt. Die Designer übernahmen ausserdem die Kataloggestaltung und die Aussen-Kommunikation. Die Exponate stammten aus den reich bestückten Sammlungsdepots der Museen und waren bis dahin kaum in der Öffentlichkeit gezeigt worden. Inspiriert von den in der Renaissance beliebten «Wunderkammern» – die heute als Keimzellen des Museums gelten – konzipierte Atelier Poisson die Ausstellung um 12 Themenblöcke. Die Grundidee, Kompositionen zwischen Stücken aus verschiedenen Sammlungen zu schaffen, zeigte, dass jedes Objekt aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln betrachtet und aus verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen Aspekten wahrgenommen werden kann. Ebenso unkonventionelle wie vielfältige Präsentationsformen ermöglichten es, die Gegenstände in einem neuen Licht zu sehen und die Neugier der Besucher zu wecken.


Comments of the nominators

Dieses Ausstellungsprojekt beeindruckt als Gesamtpaket und zeigt auf, dass die Exponate aus unterschiedlichsten Bereichen in oft unerwarteten und anregenden Zusammenhängen stehen. Atelier Poisson hat die Idee einer gemeinsamen Präsentation der Museen im Palais de Rumine mit einer überzeugenden Konzeption und einer spannenden räumlichen Umsetzung mehr als gerechtfertigt. Bemerkenswert sind auch der Katalog und die integrierte Kommunikationsstrategie.



Comments of the jury

Hier ist ein äusserst komplexes, interdisziplinäres Ausstellungsprojekt auf eine ebenso ambitionierte wie professionelle Weise umgesetzt worden. Dabei zeigt sich: Auch Objekte, für die sich normalerweise nur wenige Spezialisten erwärmen, können – intelligent inszeniert und in einen spannenden Kontext präsentiert – zu Publikumsmagneten werden. Die erfreulichen Besucherzahlen bestätigen die Relevanz und Qualität des Ausstellungs-Konzeptes. In Lausanne hat der Erfolg von COSMOS die Diskussion um die Zukunft des Palais de Rumine und seiner Museen neu belebt. Allein das ist eine grosse Leistung.