facebook  instagram  newsletter

Nominee

Spatial Design

 
 

#LOOSLAB

Team Design:

HEAD-Genève sous la direction de Youri Kravtchenko, Jean Pierre Greff (directeur), Sandra Mudronja (responsable communication),
Javier Fernandez Contreras (responsable filière architecture d’intérieur), Valentin Dubois, Bertrand Van Dorp, Florine Wescher (assistants), Xavier Plantevin, Alexandre Simian, Sergio Streun (responsables techniques), Estelle Béroujon, Camille Berra, Lolita Gomez, Jérome Nager, Joëlle Progin, Alice Proux, Pascaline Vuilloud, Marie Widmer (étudiants), Lucien Muchutti, Fanny Teka

(intervenants)


Team Client/Host:

Designers’ Saturday Langenthal


@looslab


www.hesge.ch

The size of the so-called Loosbar, which the Austrian architect Adolf Loos created in 1908 in Vienna’s Kärntnerstrasse, is inversely proportional to the worldwide fame of this interior design icon. The room measures precisely 4.40×6.00×4.10 m and Loos naturally knew how to give it completely different dimensions with the help of mirrors. The degree project #LOOSLAB, which was designed at HEAD in Geneva, investigates the significance of pictures in the genesis of contemporary interior design and relationship between picture, room and reality, using this example of the legendary bar. From the original idea of a physical imitation of the Loosbar, a room developed in a process of fragmentation, reduction and new composition, achieving its attraction through a pleasurable game of appearance and reality. The Loos installation built by students wants neither to be a copy nor a simulation of the original, but still claims a larger reality than the original known to most people only through pictures. For the students the project combined historical research and theoretical reflection with very specific design issues when implementing the installation.


Comments of the nominators

A wonderful, facet-rich training project, which gave students a wide range of theoretical and practical insights in an almost playful manner. The temporary installation, which could be experienced on several occasions when a bar was run, also offered visitors many noteworthy and inspiring insights – quite apart from the entertaining aspect.

facebook  instagram  newsletter

Nominee

Spatial Design

 
 

#LOOSLAB

Team Design:

HEAD-Genève sous la direction de Youri Kravtchenko, Jean Pierre Greff (directeur), Sandra Mudronja (responsable communication),
Javier Fernandez Contreras (responsable filière architecture d’intérieur), Valentin Dubois, Bertrand Van Dorp, Florine Wescher (assistants), Xavier Plantevin, Alexandre Simian, Sergio Streun (responsables techniques), Estelle Béroujon, Camille Berra, Lolita Gomez, Jérome Nager, Joëlle Progin, Alice Proux, Pascaline Vuilloud, Marie Widmer (étudiants), Lucien Muchutti, Fanny Teka

(intervenants)


Team Client/Host:

Designers’ Saturday Langenthal


@looslab


www.hesge.ch

Die Grösse der sogenannten Loosbar, die der österreichische Architekt Adolf Loos 1908 in der Wiener Kärntnerstrasse realisierte, ist umgekehrt proportional zum weltweiten Ruhm dieser innenarchitektonischen Ikone. Gerade einmal 4,40×6,00×4,10 m misst der Raum, dem Loos freilich mit Hilfe von Spiegeln ganz andere Dimensionen zu verleihen wusste. Das Studienprojekt #LOOSLAB, das an der HEAD in Genf konzipiert wurde, untersucht am Beispiel der legendären Bar die Bedeutung von Bildern bei der Genese zeitgenössischer Innenarchitekturen und das Verhältnis von Bild, Raum und Realität. Aus einer ursprünglich angedachten physischen Nachahmung der Loosbar entwickelte sich in einem Prozess der Fragmentierung, Reduktion und Neukomposition ein Raum, der seinen Reiz aus einem vergnüglichen Spiel von Schein und Sein bezieht. Die von den Studierenden erbaute Loos-Installation will weder eine Kopie noch eine Simulation des Originals sein, beansprucht aber trotzdem eine grössere Realität als das den meisten Menschen nur durch Bilder bekannte Original. Für die Studierenden verband das Projekt historische Recherche und theoretische Reflexion mit ganz handfesten konstruktiven Fragen bei der Umsetzung der Installation.


Comments of the nominators

Ein wunderbares, facettenreiches Ausbildungsprojekt, das den Studierenden auf fast spielerische Art eine Vielzahl von theoretischen und praktischen Einsichten vermittelte. Auch für die Besucher bot die temporäre Installation, die bei mehreren Gelegenheiten mit Barbetrieb erlebt werden konnte, viele bemerkenswerte und anregende Einsichten – vom unterhaltsamem Aspekt ganz abgesehen.